Mower County Soil and Water Conservation District

Minutes of the Mower County Soil and Water Conservation District on January 18, 2023. Held at the Hormel Nature Center in Austin.

Meeting was called to order by Micah Peterson, Board Vice Chairman.

Supervisors Present: Jon Erichson

Micah Peterson

Rod Moe

Randy Smith (Zoom)

Staff Present: Cody Fox, District Manager

Jeanne Crump, Office Manager (Zoom)
James Fett, Watershed Technician
Tim Ruzek, Outreach Coordinator
Paul Hunter, Watershed Conservationist
Larry Callahan, District Technician
Jessica Bulman, Conservation Technician

Others Present: Polly Glynn, Mower County Commissioner

Emily Zanon, MPCA

Election of Offices:

Fox led the election of offices, offices included: Chairman, Vice Chairman and Treasurer/Secretary.

Peterson nominated Smith for Chairman of the Board. Moe made a motion that nominations cease and called for a unanimous vote to elect Smith as Chairman. Peterson seconded the motion.

Affirmative: Erichson, Peterson, Moe

Opposed: None

Erichson nominated Peterson for Vice Chairman. Moe made a motion that nominations cease and called for a unanimous vote to elect Peterson as Vice Chairman. Erichson seconded the motion.

Affirmative: Erichson, Peterson, Moe

Opposed: None

Peterson nominated Erichson for Secretary/Treasurer. Moe made a motion that nominations cease and called for a unanimous vote to elect Erichson as

Treasurer/Secretary. Peterson seconded the motion.

Affirmative: Erichson, Peterson, Moe

Opposed: None

The 2023 office holders are:

Chairman: Randy Smith

Vice Chairman: Micah Peterson Treasurer/Secretary: Jon Erichson

Agenda:

Erichson made a motion to approve the January agenda. Moe seconded the motion.

Affirmative: Erichson, Peterson, Moe

Opposed: None

Secretary Report:

Erichson made a motion to approve the minutes of the December 21, 2022 board meeting. Moe seconded the motion.

Affirmative: Erichson, Peterson, Moe

Opposed: None

Treasurer Report:

Checks Payable:

The payables report was reviewed with the board. Erichson made a motion to approve the payables report, January payroll and to transfer money as needed.

Moe second the motion.

Affirmative: Erichson, Peterson, Moe

Opposed: None

NRCS Report, Gary Kurer:

No report.

Commissioner Report, Polly Glynn:

Glynn updated the board on county items, to include; the commissioner organizational meeting, the new county commissioner, Dan Sparks, and ARPA funds.

Action Items:

Legal Paper:

Erichson made a motion to keep the designation of the Austin Daily Herald as the official legal paper of the District in 2023. Moe second the motion.

Affirmative: Erichson, Peterson, Moe

Opposed: None

Bank of Depository:

Erichson made a motion to continue with the current banks, US bank as the bank of depository for checking, First State Bank MN in LeRoy for the District savings, and United Farmers State Bank in Adams for CD's. Moe second the motion.

Affirmative: Erichson, Peterson, Moe

Opposed: None

SWCD Board Meeting Time/Place:

Moe made a motion to keep the SWCD monthly board meetings on the 2nd Wednesday of each month at 8:00am. at the Mower SWCD building conference room. Erichson seconded the motion.

Affirmative: Erichson, Peterson, Moe

Opposed: None

21	Λ	1	2	1	C.	_	_	_	
71	u	1	1		н	е,	е	C	٠

Fox talked about the proposed 2023 Fees, with no changes from last year. Erichson made a motion to approve the 2023 Fee schedule as presented. Moe seconded the motion.

Affirmative: Erichson, Peterson, Moe

Opposed: None

Discussion Items:

Downtown Dam:

Ruzek talked about the proposed changes to the downtown dam in Austin. A feasibility study will be done for the project.

Committee Appointments:

The board discussed the SWCD committees. Smith will make the committee appointments at the February meeting.

The 2022 Committee Appointments were:

Personnel: Randy Smith & Micah Peterson Finance: Jon Erichson & Randy Smith

Water Planning: Jon Erichson

Joint Powers: Rod Moe, Randy Smith alternate
Legislative Committee: Jon Erichson, Rod Moe alternate
Feedlot Committee: Randy Smith, Jim Kellogg alternate

Watershed District Liaison: Jon Erichson

Root River Policy Committee: Jim Kellogg, Micah Peterson alternate Cedar River Wtrshd. Policy Com: Randy Smith, Rod Moe alternate

Soil Health Equipment Grant:

Fox informed the board on the new grant.

Supervisor Reports:

Chairman Report:

Smith updated on the leadership program.

Staff Report (See Attached):

The Staff Report and all programs were reviewed.

Meeting was adjourned.	The next board meeting will be February 8	3, 2023 at 8:00 a.m.

APPROVED	DATE	